230v motor wiring problems | on ElectriciansForums
Guest viewing is limited

Discuss 230v motor wiring problems in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

AslElectrical

Hi guys , new to the forum I have been given a motor by a friend to see if I can get it working for him , its from a compressor , not sure of the make of the compressor but the motor has a stamped panel on the side which shows all the details , they are as follows
230v , ac , 2.2kw , 2850rpm, 50hz , 1 phase, 15.5amp, frame number: ped90ln. J067462 , class f , ip54 , 9658
I'm a competent electrician but haven't a clue on motors , its come to me with all the wires removed from the top block ,it has 2 capacitors bolted to the side , the wire colors are red blue black orange yellow , I can take a picture of the top block if needed

Any help would be very much appreciated , thanks in advance
Lee

With larger single phase motors they sometimes use two caps in parallel to act as a single larger capacitor.

Can't help with the colours, they can vary between manufacturers.

Are there any ID collets on the wiring with markings like U1, U2 etc?

Are you sure there's 5 wires?

If you peer into the back can you see a centrifugal switch assembly?

I've given you full member permissions so you should be able to attach images if they're not too large.

Last edited:
Hi marvo thanks for the quick and useful reply ,
There is 100% only 5 cables if I remove the cover surrounding the connector block you can see that they go directly into the windings of the motor , or atleast they appear to , 3 are labled but the other 2 aren't , I have red -U1 black-U2 yellow Z2 but the orange and blue aren't labeled I'm guessing one of the non labbeled should be z1 ? I'm not sure on how to add photos as I'm using my phone as to the laptop, I can email them to you if you like

It's no wonder you were having attachment issues, the image was 5Mb which is way too large for the forum image filesize limits.