3 phase on a domestic property | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss 3 phase on a domestic property in the Domestic Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Z

zodiacspain

I have recently bought a property with 3 phase electric supply, 3 phases and a neutral, we are turning the house into 2 apartments, so would it be possible to put 1 phase to each appartment and then the last phase to the garage? i know that when each phase is connected to the neutral it is 240v.
I'm not an electrician but i have alot of common sense, i have read that you should load each phase as evenly as possible, but this not be possible with the way i would like to use it.
Can anyone answer my question and help?
Gary

you would have to calculate the load on each phase. taking diversity into account, and balance as best you can. but bear in mind that this work needs to be done by a qualified electrician.

There are many properties with 3phase supplies, that only use one or two of the phases.
Is the garage intended to be metered separately to the two apartments, or is it intended for the garage to be metered with one of them?

There are many properties with 3phase supplies, that only use one or two of the phases.
Is the garage intended to be metered separately to the two apartments, or is it intended for the garage to be metered with one of them?

I'm in Spain and electric company in Spain is Iberdrola, they have fitted a 3 phase meter, so coming out of the meter is 3 phases and a neutral ... the apartments will be one for me and the other for a friend so all we've decided to have whatever the bill is, so each apartment does not need to be metered separately ;)