3phase and Neutral | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss 3phase and Neutral in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

snowplough

Hi Guys,

I am fairly new on here,

I am just studying my first ear on the 2330 Electrical course and i have tonne of stuff to ask you all which doesn't seem to make sense to me yet.

Well here goes with the first thing regarding (3 load phase and the neutral wire).

I think i understand that a 3 phase wire system is 3 wire containing 3 separate voltages at 120 apart but produced by the same generator by spinning 3 coils of wire in a magnet , or is it a magnet spinning inside a coil of wire?.

Secondandly it says that if the 3 phases run into a balanced load from the generator does this mean that it is connected in the generator into this balanced delta or star connection and then the 3 phases are taken off this star or delta connection at the generator and run into another star or delta connection at transformer where it goes into this balanced load, and it says that the 3 voltages add up to zero which i dont understand?.

Thirdly It says the Neutral wire is for the out of balanced current?
I Can only understand at this point that if you take a line from one of the phases and into a home say then that single supply needs a return path to its source so it can complete its circuit , hence the so called neutral wire .Is this what it means by being out of balance, the fact that the return current flow doesnt go back down the other 2 phases , but down a seperate return wire( called the neutra wire).

And fourthly, if the neutral wire is connected to earth ,and is said to be at earth potential (zero),
what happens to the current flow in the A.C domestic circuit as it flows firstly through line in the home and out of the neutral, and then through the neutral, back in the home and out of the line at 50 times a second.