Advice needed | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Advice needed in the Talk Electrician area at ElectriciansForums.net

A

Arcanity

Hi everyone, need some advice

I currently work in retail, and have been thinking for some time of learning to become an electrician, which I originally wanted to do on leaving school. 10 years have passed, and I'm looking to make the change now whilst still "young" enough. I have looked into the private training companies, and have pretty much given up on them with course fees etc. I have been offered the opportunity to work with a local company as an electricians mate, whilst doing day release at college. I think I already know the answer, but I want to ask, Would I be really stupid to pass up this opportunity? I would really appreciate some feedback and thoughts. Thank you.

Do it! I would've killed for an opportunity like this when I started. I did eventually get some real world experience but not from the beginning of my course. Try and do it with local college not an expensive training provider. Doing it at college you get more classroom time.

Takes longer but if you've not got kids then take the money hit and time hit and do it.

If you think you've got the brain for it then do it! I wonder sometimes if I have the brain for it but that's another story...

If it's something you really want to do, then do it. Better to regret something you've tried than regret not having a go (with exceptions).
If you're on the career ladder at the moment though, just think hard before you give that up. In another ten years would you rather be running a shop or onsite, grafting?

You've got a golden oppertunity there....if an electrician is something you definitely want to be then you'd be a mug to pass this up.

On the other hand if you only think you possibily/maybe want to be an electrician and things are comfortable where your employed now then think very hard about it before ditching one for the other.