Advise needed | on ElectriciansForums
Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Advise needed in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

benkhowe

Firstly not sure if this is in the correct section, but hear goes. I paid to go to college evenings etc. I gained my 2377, 2382-12, part p they chucked a first aid in there too.

I am currently working in an office and it drives me crazy "cooped" up. I have no real electricians experience. The advise I seek is where do I go next some say 2392 and 2391. But in not sure, my current job pays really well so unsure of to pursue electricians career or not. I earn roughly 1800 after deductions. So where would the next move be for me? Is it worth the career move? I know many will not feel right saying how much they earn, but just seeking bit about of friendly advise really.

Look forward to your responses thanks.

Where you go next is up to you and what you want to do.
But if you want to get into it then I suggest you try to get some work as a mate on a weekend or something and see if you will actually enjoy it.

Wages vary area to area and job to Job so there is no easy way to tell if you would be better off, Ive known a maintenance spark earn 17k a year, another self employed getting 60k. Sure there will be some at even further extremes than those and many more in the middle.

first be prepared to spend 3 years , 2 evenings a week, at college to get core qualification. think it's 2365 now. then am2 and nvq3. the latter requires being employed in the trade. during the 3 years you will need to work as a trainee/mate for well less than you are earning now.