Charging for testing before commencing any work? - Domestic | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Charging for testing before commencing any work? - Domestic in the Domestic Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

1shortcircuit

Oh well, just been informed that a client chose another quote over mine just because I wanted to charge them 100 quid for an intial inspection and test. My reasoning was I was expecting to find a number of faults on the installation.

Apparently I was the only one that wanted to charge for this. Now I'm new to the game but I don't see why I should spend ex amount of hours testing an installation just for a client to decide that they no longer want to proceed with the work should there be underlying issues. I did state that if all test results came back satisfactory then the charge would be subtracted from the initial quote.

Perhaps the charge is too steep? but when youre quoting 900 quid for a job and they're not keen on making a small payment of 100 quid then it kind of gives the wrong impression. On the other hand, I guess the client could feel the same way?

Win some lose some I guess, I won't be losing sleep over it because it looked like a right mare of a job. If someone goes in there without testing first then I'd expect them to be experiencing a few issues before the end ;)

Does anyone see any problems with my approach or able to add a little critique? I think it may have been a godsend on this occasion but I don't want to see this continue to lose me work in the future.

Thanks in advance

1SC

Oh well, just been informed that a client chose another quote over mine just because I wanted to charge them 100 quid for an intial inspection and test. My reasoning was I was expecting to find a number of faults on the installation.