Checking Earth on an Industrial Equipment | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Checking Earth on an Industrial Equipment in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sarky

Hi Guys,

Well i am a newbie on here, I have an Industrial Machine and I need to renew the Earthing Rods,
The machine is of 3 Big Units and I want to make sure the earthing I install is enough for the requirement.

The power source is a 350KV Generated power.

Any Info will be welcomed.

Thanks

Sarky

Sarky my old deputy engineer would tell me

"Son the impossible we do immediately, miracles may take a little longer"

I think even our HV experts like Engineer54 and Tony would struggle with the limited information you have supplied.

Why are you renewing earth rods?
What are you trying to achieve?
What is the requirement?

As Malcolm said, more information needed. I hope you meant 350KVA and not 350KV.
I bloody hope so otherwise you will be toast before your next post!

Last edited by a moderator:
:) ok got your points as for the KV it is KVA :) sorry..

Let me give you a bit of my background, I am not a sparkie my field is
mechanical engineer in charge of a Yard which has a few industrial equipment.

Now one question you are going to ask "What the hell is a mechanical engineer doing with
Electricity.", Well This yard is in Nigeria / Africa if anyone of you guys worked this neck of the
wood would understand that proper hands are hard to come by.

The machine is an Asphalt plant, there have been issues with the electrics and tried to get
so called electricians to look at it but they are not able to do it.

The plant is powered by a diesel engine 350KVA FG Wilson, and i think from day one of that
plant there was no proper earthing.

What am i trying to achieve... Right I want that plant to have the proper earthing done, and
i need to know things i can check, Things i know is the TOTAL AMPS the machine consumes when running

Anything else you require do let me know

Sarky