Do other Inverter suppliers offer an equivalent to Sunnyboy Explorer? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Do other Inverter suppliers offer an equivalent to Sunnyboy Explorer? in the Solar PV Forum | Solar Panels Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

Grinnders

Hi Guys,

New consumer here.

Just about to have a 17 panel (4KWph) PV installation and after reading a lot on here have decided to go with SANYO HIT N235SE10 panels based on the positive feedback and constricted roof space.

I live in Poole with a predominantly West facing roof but there is some South facing so we're looking to split between the two (mostly West though). Potential shading south (early morning) and none West.

At the moment the installer has not suggested the inverter ("will run it through some software") but I am optimistic it will be Sunnyboy or Fronius. They are quoting for a Bluetooth display @ £250 installed but as I work in IT I know bluetooth connectivity to be relatively simple and see that SMA offer the sort of alternative I would prefer. We already have a monitor from EON for electricity supply and I know in 6 months I've probably only bothered the once to connect it via USB and download to a PC.

Therefore I can see the appeal of a Bluetooth connection direct to the PC, which is where I'd prefer to review the performance.

So after this long ramble... do Fronius or other inverter suppliers offer a similar bluetooth option? I don't really want to spend £500-£1000 on one of the internet connected data loggers when in reality that is probably more useful for the installer than it is for me.

Thanks for the wealth of information so far. Great website

Fronius are single mppt inverters and not suitable if your roof slopes to be used point in different directions.