electric meter question | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss electric meter question in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

EJ-AY

Hi,my first post in the forum hopefully i would get a good feedback,How do i train as a electric meter installer, i am already a gas qualified so i can work on gas meter, just wanted to have electrics to add to my already existing skills, and do i need to have any electrical background? thanks:ihih:

Thank you malcolmsanford the response was swift i like that...and how do i proceed, any suggestion like companies to calls e.t.c. thamks

if you have no formal electrical training or qualifications I would proceed carefully, as for companies to call if you are to attempt this, I suggest ambulance then fire brigade

Hi Gaz76, i am completely new to this all i need is some leads to get me in the right directions...why the fire brigade or the ambulance....is it becos you think i'd blow myself up or the property very funny mate... proceed with care is the motto.

Find out which meter companies operate in your area and contact them! If your trained as a gas meter fitter there will be a fair amount of overlap in the trades. Have you asked where you work now.
An electric meter has four connections, gas two. Both can kill, beyond that it’s ticking boxes on a time sheet.

A fully trained meter fitter

View attachment 11100

Best quote of the day.

Welcome EJ, have seen loads of agency metering jobs up in london but the rates are pants. They estimate £400 a week but when you break it down it worked out as for that money you have to fit a meter every 8 minutes and this was using your own transport.
So the big city is not all that shiney in the meter market. I'm sure siemens or scottish power pay more but harder to get into.
There is a guy on scottish power on here so perhaps he can advise better. Good luck.