Help With Plan of Attack! | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Help With Plan of Attack! in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

hoppy

-
Reaction score
HI Guys.

Got my first lived in rewire coming up, so after some help on how to go about it.

I am a fully qualified electrician, but only do commercial and industrial work.

I have done one other rewire, byt it was vacant, so i just killed the whole house and ripped everything out no problems.

Obviously i need to leave power and lighting througth th course of the job, so just wondering how you more experienced guys go about a lived in rewire?

All help and advice is seriously appreciated!

Thanks

Craig

get customer to feed you with Tea and Biscuits!! helps when eating dust!

also pre planning and emptying rooms as required reduced messing about! also stopping and tidying up regularly allows for a quick get a way on the evening!

If you have space then fit your new CU straight away, with old one in situ and split supply ( temporarily with a henley block ). This way you can install and test the new circuits as you replace them and leave the customer with everything working at the end of each day.

Last edited by a moderator:
i try to do most of the installation without disturbing the existing. there is trhen a minimum period of disruption. obviously each job is different. a good idea is to lend out a few table lamps if lighting has to be lost over night.

Tell the customers to stay at family or friends for a week due to H&S :).

A very good idea.

If the customer wants cables hidden you will be chasing walls, pulling up floorboards and cutting into plasterboard. Even if you have a dedicated wall chaser with a dust extractor attachment, you will produce a huge amount of dust.