• Start date
  • Replies 1
  • Views 133

Currently reading:
Intro

Discuss Intro in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Michael Grant

Got a message asking me to post, so here's my initial post...

I have found answers to some electrical questions on this forum over the years and finally decided to register. I'm not an electrician! But I did study electronics and have done quite a bit of my own small house electrical wiring fixes over the years.

I often look power poles and wonder what's going on. Usually I can suss out what's going on like ok, there's the 3 phases, they each go into this transformer there and then the lower voltage phase comes out and they continue down the street. Other times I look at poles and things make little sense.

I live in Europe, but I have family in the US. I can't help but notice that when I use an electric kettle there that it takes ages to boil. Last one I looked at there, the wattage was 1500 watts, but the kettle I have here which runs off 240VAC states it's 3000 watts. I wonder if I were to just plug the US kettle into a 240 outlet like for an air conditioner in the US if it would fry it or if it would boil water like the UK version. I can't see why it wouldn't. I've also considered just bringing a cheap UK kettle to the US. Someone surely must have tried all of this before me!

Anyway, it's questions like that that I sometimes wonder about and that's why I finally registered.

Michael Grant

Hi and welcome to the forum. Thanks for posting. I'll stay out of the advice because I'm not a sparky. But welcome aboard and if you need anything just ask. :)

This thread hasn't been replied to for 14 days, so replying to this one may not get a response. Post a new thread instead.

Reply to Intro in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

OFFICIAL SPONSORS