Lazy apprentice getting tested | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Lazy apprentice getting tested in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

Nearly there

Hi
basically Im a 2nd year apprentice and my boss wants to put me to the test
There is a commercial building thats single phase
The guy wants 2 temporary supplys for 2 seperate intruder alarms in one building
The run will be 100m
So far i have figured out (as yes i am lazy and i need to make a move)
I will be using 2 core SWA 4mm CLipped outside to an FCU which will be inside the building then spur off 2 x 2.5mm T+E 20metres to each side to the intruder alarms.
I will be using a 6A FCU
My boss wont help me untill i make a mistake and i just thought id ask for some help off the website ive been browsing
sorry for the basic questions =/

each alarm panel needs its own FCU at 3A mounted adjacent to the panel ( local isolation). your first FCU is feedin 2.5 cables so needs fusing at 13A. what protection are you using to protect the 4mm? volt drop won't be a problem as the panels pull a very small current, less than 1A. you could ask your boss what current the panels take. he probably won't have an idea without referring to the installation manual.

Diddnt think it would be a big problem Tel, but it shows hes done his workings and its extracting this information from his boss, im just thinking about exceeding his bosses expectations here!

Sorry should have made what i ment clearer!!

thats what i thought, see if he can put one over on his boss. bet his boss is expecting him to come straight off FCU and feed both alarms direct.

i know this wont help you very much just abit of advice.
i would do what i think i would do and not ask for to much help as your boss is looking for what you know not the guys on the forum, if you do it correctly your boss may think your ready for much bigger things when you actually may not be. everyone makes mistakes its what you take away from your mistakes.