Min 20A supply to Double Garage | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Min 20A supply to Double Garage in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

berniesquash

Hi - Newbie here with a technical question. Not looking to perform the work myself unless it's 'cast iron' not notifiable.

Situation: I have a new build property (completed Nov 2012) with an attached double garage. Power to the garage is currently via a modern CU - 2.5mm TE to a double domestic 13A socket (Radial) and lighting is a separate 6A CU circuit on 1.5mm powering 2 pendants. The 2.5mm cable is simply surface fixed inside the garage and has no conduit or external protection. CU MCB's and RCD are Hager MTN B Types.

Now - I am purchasing a light industrial woodworking bandsaw which the manufacturer recommends running from a 20A supply (I've read elsewhere on the web that other users of this bandsaw have had issues with 13 A fuses rupturing on start up). I would also like to consider installing a 30/32A supply to allow for other future machinery purposes.

What's the best way for me to proceed - as I see it I have a few options:

1. Have the 16A 2.5 mm CU Garage MCB uprated to 20A (I'm aware the 2.5mm TE should be good for 27A) and install a switched 30A Commando as an additional radial socket. Would this be notifiable?

2. Have the 6mm 32A cooker radial extended on 6mm through the garage wall to a new CU / DB. The cooker is a modern double oven with a gas hob and overhead extractor.

Expert views and labour estimates really appreciated!

Many Thanks!

Reply to Min 20A supply to Double Garage in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Your kWh figures are giving you consumption averaged over each hour period, but don't give an indication of total instantaneous current. To try...
Replies
Views
  • Question