outside lights - up lighting trees | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss outside lights - up lighting trees in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

brman

got a job to put in some outside lights and it turns out the guy wants a couple of lights lighting some trees from below. He is after soft lighting so I was thinking some diffused CFL spots but I've never done ground mounted lights before.

Is IP44 good enough or do I need to go higher for ground mounted stuff? Are there specific mechanical requirements for ground lighting?

What about cabling? I was already planning SWA underground from the house but was originally planning flex (NYY-J?) from that to the lights. Now I am not sure the best way of cabling to the ground mounted lights as I guess flex is likely to be damaged. swa all the way? it could be a pain to get underground to where he wants the lights because of tree roots......

PAR38 spike lights. you can get different colours. the actual fitting is IP rated but designed for flex cable. you would need an adapt, box to connect to SWA.

thanks tel. So they are designed to be on a flex and just stuck in the lawn somewhere?
Lets say it has a couple of meters of flex to the adaptable box (or even a outdoor socket??) does the flex need to be mechanically protected in some way? I am a bit concerned with flex just lying on the lawn or in flower borders.....

you could fit about 2ft. of bright coloured arctic flex from the ad. box to the light. it's possible to get 1.5mm SWA in the fitting, but no facility to gland it.

you could fit about 2ft. of bright coloured arctic flex from the ad. box to the light. it's possible to get 1.5mm SWA in the fitting, but no facility to gland it.