problems with lighting contactor | on ElectriciansForums
Guest viewing is limited

Discuss problems with lighting contactor in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

dts71

Hello guys. This is my first post on any forum so please go easy on me.
Thanks in advance for any help.

I'm a domestic electrician and so never have to deal with contactors but I'm doing a job for a friend of a friend and the lighting contactor ( Ac, 25A, 4 pole - L/N L/N ) goes: on off on off on off... quickly. It's one of those nightmare faults that 'only happens sometimes' . obviously never when I'm there.

First I checked voltages. No probs.
Checked wiring. No probs. ( apparently the polarity of a1 and a2 doesn't matter)
I changed the contactor for a new one but this morning I got a call saying that the new one was doing the same.

I've read online that fluctuating voltages can cause the Relay to let go but I haven't witnessed the issue so i'm not sure.
Apparently now the lights are off permenantly and the contactor is silent. (Presumably burnt out).
They did have a rodent problem a couple of months back but couldn't find any obvious damage on my checks.

Does anyone know what would cause this? Should I start ripping the place apart to find a chewed cable?
Also, is it possible for me to split the lighting loads to much lower levels and just whack them on their own circuits on a 3 or 4 gang switch?
Sorry if the answer is obvious and I sound stupid but I never have to deal with contactors.
Thank you for your time, the help is much appreciated.

What is it that's energising the contactor? Usually a volt free contact on something, PIR etc... this is where I would first look.

However if they have had rodent problems, testing the cables wouldn't be a bad start.

Thanks guys. Yes, I'm due there first thing tomorrow so I'll begin by testing both lighting circuits thoroughly. They were about to close when I was there the other day so I didn't have time to pull it apart.