Providing certs, help clearing this up | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Providing certs, help clearing this up in the Talk Electrician area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

swainy101

I work for a small fire alarm company during the week but I get quite a bit of foreigner work for myself on the weekends, some people ask for a cert and signing off when they call me but I automatically turn the work down as I have been told in the past that i cannot sign off work, I am a qualified electrician and I have got my 17th edition but what do I need to sign off a domestic install?

You say you're doing it as weekend foreigners so the thing with notifying work is it leaves you with a paper trail.

So if they are true foreigners, as in cash in hand, then there's always a chance, very slight of getting caught out.

Maybe you read my thread wrong, I started this thread to see what I needed to sign off an installation as I have heard different things

There is a difference between issuing an electrical certificate and self certification to conform to the building regs. If you are competent/qualified you are already able to issue an electrical certificate to conform to BS7671. To satisfy the building regs on notifiable work without paying them a notification fee you will have to join one of the self certification schemes, NICIEC NAPPIT ELECSA etc . This normally costs around £400 plus insurance ans books , calibration of instruments and an annual inspection to see if you are still up to standard (they want more money) To join you pay your dosh , they come and assess you , make sure you got all the books etc -and away you go. This is what is misnomer'd as Part P qualified.

Last edited:
Maybe you read my thread wrong, I started this thread to see what I needed to sign off an installation as I have heard different things