Qualifications to become a proper electrician?! | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Qualifications to become a proper electrician?! in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Boner

Guys, I'm currently a lowly domestic installer, but would like to get my qualifications to become a proper electrician!!!
PLEASE don't shoot me, but what courses/qualifications do I need to have to play with commercial/industrial stuff? :confused:
Cheers - Boner.

a level 3 electical theory qualification, and an NVQ3. this will get you graded by the JIB, which 90% of employers ask for on commercial and industrial sites. Self employed, absolutely nothing, but you do have to be competent. this is very hard to prove without qualifications, and in the event of an accident or fire, you would be between a rock and a hard place!

mmmm - I am self employed, but was kind of under the assumption that I would need to have some city & guilds qualification to do inspection & testing on three phase stuff. Either way, does anyone know of any courses out there that would aid me to get a bit of knowledge etc?
Cheers - Boner.

I'm glad someone else has realised that domestics is merely DIY at that commercial/ industrial is proper electricians work!!

*ducks*

I'm glad someone else has realised that domestics is merely DIY at that commercial/ industrial is proper electricians work!!

*ducks*

I stopped being a proper electrician in the last few years if thats the case :D
I'm winding down now but I like dawdling along with Diy electrics

and the lord said "In my house there are many mantions"
[ElectriciansForums.net] Qualifications to become a proper electrician?!

Define proper electrician please

Des, I don't think that the fella mean't any offence. You are too long in the tooth mate to be insulted by an innocent comment. That was clearly stating the difference between a fully qualified commercial spark and a five day domestic course 'spark.'