qualifying as a domestic installer | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss qualifying as a domestic installer in the Domestic Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

robfvv

Hi,
I just registered with your forum.
I currently work in the City, in finance. But the work is no longer very satisfying, and there has always been this “wanting to work for myself as an domestic installer (electrician)”.
Clearly there are many hurdles to this, but the first one is perhaps how to get qualified.
I am well educated, but probably not in the right field, wanting to qualifying as an electrician...
I am a university graduate, with a master degree in mechanical engineering obtained in the late 1980s. That was a lot of theory, also in electricity. Nothing about, say, re-wiring a house. (I worked as an engineer for about 10 years before I moved to the City)
I surfed the web and found a variety of courses in all kinds of areas of electrical work; all training companies are eager to get me to join. They don’t seem very independent to me.
My question is: What is necessary to become a qualified electrician; and can I work for myself as domestic installer after perhaps initially work for a firm. Is City & Guild a good place to start? Or perhaps elsewhere you can suggest?
Thanks, Rob

Hi Rob,

welcome, I have just qualified as an electrician, I only want to do domestic,
I have been in IT for last 20 +years, local government oficer.

I studied part time over last 3 years,
took C & G 2330 L2 ans L3, 2392 Level 2 (testing and inspecting) and 2382 (17th edition)

I am going out on my own part time, Building Control are happy with the qualifications, building up a few jobs and hope to get Part P redistered.

Hope this helps

:)

Hi to become a Domestic Installer you need to take the EAL VRQ which is all about the Building Regs, then the C & G 2382. Having completed these you need to register with a body like the NICEIC to be fully covered for the Part P.