RCBO mains board help | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss RCBO mains board help in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm an apprentice and tommorow I've been given the job of installing my first (larger) RCBO filled mains board. I've done one before but that was just 4 ways single phase. This has 11 ways 3 phase (8 showers 6mmt&e, 2 heaters 2.5mmt&e and Lighting circuit 1.5mmt&e). Just wondered if anyone has any tips on making it neat. (Using sqaure D/Schneider RCBO's), As the Neutral and earth wires are coiled up (why?) it can look a bit untidy. Any tips?

As it's your first no one will be expecting it done in record time, so take as long as you can.
Will you be supervised on this one? If so ask the supervisor gadgie for how he would like to see it

Thanks Trev, and Yes I'll be supervised. Sedgy Yes I do take note of what my colleagues do, I was just seeing if anyone on here had a different way that might make the work look easier. Forgive me but I thought that a forum for electricians might well be a useful place to gain additional electrical knowledge.

If the circuits are wired in singles a lot of people use cable ties to bunch their cables together and leave a loop before they enter the respective terminations to allow a little slack for future alterations/maintenance

As an apprentice (Many years ago) I didn't have the benefit of internets where I could ask questions. All I had was a slightly overweight, balding man who would strike me if I repeated a mistake. While I sometimes lament that I am not allowed to strike some useless disinterested boy, this one should be applauded (imho)for sticking his head into what can sometimes seem like the lions mouth and wanting to do a nice neat job, come the advent of the learning sub forum I hope many more will come along

I remember when I first did a 3 phase board and I was absolutely cacking it!