Running DC motor from AC grid? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Running DC motor from AC grid? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

petke

Hi

Im a hobbyist woodworker. I came across the following big old industrial bandsaw. I might buy it if I can get it cheap.

Huutokaupat.com - 04.10. - 28.10. Ulosmitattu Bullmer vannesaha - Utmätt bandsåg Bullmer, Vaasa - Kohde 53245

(Its been used in the textile industry. I believe I could use it for woodworking, especially resawing logs, if I buy a new blade. It seems powerful enough.)

I dont know anything about motors. Thats why im here. The description says its 3-phase. So im hoping that means I can run it from the standard AC 380v 3 phase power I get from the grid at home.

The motor plate looks like it says:

Watt 1100

Motor type: DC 1:1.4

DC? That makes me think I cant run it from the powergrid at all. Unhelpfully there is no electrical socket/plug in the pictures. There is just cut off and exposed wire ends. This makes me think its been hardwired or connected in some non standard way.

Could anyone give me some advice here. What id like to know is:

1) Can I run this motor fine with standard 380v AC current?

2) Or do I need DC power.

3) If so, would it be best/cheapest to buy a AC to DC transformator of some kind, or to buy some type of petrol to DC generator.

4) I believe band saws are usually induction motors. Is this one of those?

(I believe the people selling it are liquidators, and not the original owners, so they might not know much about the motor either)

Thanks /Petke

I'm not sure the motor is DC, it looks like a3-phase AC motor to me. If by some chance it is DC you could easily find a single or 3-phase AC motor to replace it, it's only a 1.1kW motor so they should be available cheap locally. A replacement motor would be far cheaper than trying to set up a DC supply. Just out of interest what is your single phase (L-N) voltage in Finland and how many Herts is your supply?