Scaffolding | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Scaffolding in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

codger

-
Reaction score
Hello lads. Was wondering if you could help me with an issue we have at work?
I'm a lecturer in electrical installation at a local college training young apprentice sparks. Part of the training involves getting the 1st stage lads to build a tower scaffold two sections high with all the necessary accessories that go with it.
The issue is that we feel we should be certificated in a suitable level of building. We have had advice before saying that we should be qualified not just to build the scaffold, but qualified to train people to build scaffolding.
Can anyone give me guidance on this or point me in the correct direction for advice. I've tried the HSE, but, to be honest, contacting them is like looking for the Holy Grail.

Much appreciated.

The instructor should be trained In the use of the various types of scaffold.

Before a scaffold is used it should have a ScafTag stating who inspected it and like PA testing a “next inspection due”.

Have a look HERE

Last edited by a moderator:
I have issues with tutors asking such questions ....surely if your already teaching such areas these concerns you have should have been addressed before taking on the responsibilities its almost scary you come on an internet forum to ask this kind of question... its health and safety and not saying you are giving wrong info but in your lack of training on the subject - what if you are?

EDIT.... Ignore the above post ... due to a later postt from the OP who has now made it clear he is not actively training students with scaffolding use and is only enquiring about who to contact regarding attaining the appropriate recognition to allow him to train and instruct others.

Last edited: