Seeping pipe connection to Loft Cold water plumbing advice | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Seeping pipe connection to Loft Cold water plumbing advice in the Plumbers Forums area at ElectriciansForums.net

Seeping pipe connection to Loft Cold water Had a problem with hammering noise coming from pipes (triggered by hot water, though it could be eased if you put the cold water on).
Went through everything i could, checking joists etc. Problem appeared to be the ballcock in the loft cold water tank.

Ive replaced it but for the life of me i cant stop seepage out of the nut for the main connection. Though ive only tried
1. Going tighter, getting to the point i'm not sure i can get it any tighter!
2. adding the pfte tape to close any gap

Still getting seeping from the nut, left a tea towel wrapped around it overnight and its soaked this morning.

Im a real newbie and feel the answer is obvious (more tape??) but seems the majority of the job is done, i really dont want to bring someone in but im all out of ideas and know my limits, which are pretty low it has to be said.

For info - I wrapped the tape around the brass thread of the ball cock, no tape used on the cold main thred/nut. See photo

Seeping pipe connection to Loft Cold water to read more on the original thread at Plumbing Advice

See also UK Plumbing Advice for all UK plumbing advice needs.

Reply to Seeping pipe connection to Loft Cold water plumbing advice in the Plumbers Forums area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

M
  • Article
Cold Water Tank In Loft - Cause Of Flood Dispute? Having just moved into a property and discovering the central heating not functioning, after 3...
Replies
Views
Mijacmad
M
A
  • Article
Cold water flowing back into hot feed. Hi, I'd be grateful for some advice please. Every 12- 18 months I have a problem with cold water flowing...
Replies
Views
Askey
A
L
  • Article