Service Head scenario | on ElectriciansForums
Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Service Head scenario in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

Kingston555

Hi, I'm a trainee electrician and am thinking about upgrading a consumer unit. I'm aware that anything south of the CCU belongs to the electricity supplier and that we're required to call them out to remove the fuse from the service head before starting such a job; but I'm curious about this scenario because both the Line and Neutral cables are going into their own separate Henley blocks, before carrying on to the meter. Would these Henley blocks have removable fuses then? I thought Henley blocks were just simple connection blocks.

You posted this in the Trainee Forum application are which means only you and the forum staff could see it. I've moved it to the General Electrical forum for you.

What training are you currently doing? What test equipment do you have?

Hi, I'm a trainee electrician and am thinking about upgrading a consumer unit. I'm aware that anything south of the CCU belongs to the electricity supplier and that we're required to call them out to remove the fuse from the service head before starting such a job; but I'm curious about this scenario because both the Line and Neutral cables are going into their own separate Henley blocks, before carrying on to the meter. Would these Henley blocks have removable fuses then? I thought Henley blocks were just simple connection blocks.

Henley blocks do not have fuses in them they are generally used for connecting multiple tails together. You should be doing this job under direct supervision from a qualified electrician and shouldn't be thinking of tackling this yourself. Changing a consumer units is also notifiable.

just for your reference this is a Henley block.

Attachments

• [ElectriciansForums.net] Service Head scenario
    image.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 267