Setting up from scratch | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Setting up from scratch in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Plonker 3

I have the chance of taking voluntary redundancy and would receive over a reasonable sum of money if I did. Now I know times are hard at them minute but was maybe thinking if I took it I would set up on my own as I have never done this before.

Now having no experience of this is there actually any work out there to do this at the minute?

Would I better staying where I am for a while until things improve?

Finally what would I need to do to set up i.e accountants, wholesalers etc?

Have a look at this site first, there is everything you need to know there: Starting up | Business Link

A couple of accounts with a national wholesalers and maybe a good local one will do you, it's about convenience and minimising down time.

Drive a hard bargain on the discounts offered and constantly review what you are being charged, it's amazing what you can get back in credit notes!

The market is in flux at the moment, with a lot of cowboy undercutting, not a good time for a new start-up with no track record. My advice is stay put for now, but continue to monitor the market for improvement, give it year or two and the cowboys will have cut each other throats, then you can make your move on the upturn of the market. Do all your preparation work now so you are in a position to react to the upturn.

I would stay put at the mo. i.e. employed and do research as above PLUS do a business budget, and work out all your fixed and variable overheads so that you get your head around all the costs etc.

Its all very well knowing the costs but you have to budget for earning little or nothing for the first 6-9 months

Plus if you've all the prep, and you get offered voluntary redundancy again, you'll know if its worth taking it!

I'd happily run (paid) sessions on this!

Last edited by a moderator: