Shower Connections? estra rcd's etc.. | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Shower Connections? estra rcd's etc.. in the Talk Electrician area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

justinbowness15

SORRY EXTRA RCD'S :rolleyes2:

Hi guys, i have been reading many other posts but as there are so many well trained sparks on here i thought id put my questions up.

I am having a shower installed in a recently revamped bathroom. Im no expert as you will soon realise but it will be installed by a part P pro.:frown:

The main in-house circuit board is the very basic 30+ year old 3 plugs/fuses type (operates plugs, lights and a previosly connect shower which has been removed)

As there already is a 6mm cable in the attic coming from the board which has a 45amp breaker for the shower, and i have an isolater switch to go in the bathroom, will i need an extra RCD in line from the switch to the shower?

So to try explain, Main board in kitchen with 45amp cut out plug - 6mm cable to loft - isolator switch - shower. This is how it currently was many years ago. I understand the max size shower which seems to be the smallest will be 7.5kw.

Hope you can help before i get over charged by a sparky. :sick:

Cheers

SORRY EXTRA RCD'S :rolleyes2:

Hi guys, i have been reading many other posts but as there are so many well trained sparks on here i thought id put my questions up.

I am having a shower installed in a recently revamped bathroom. Im no expert as you will soon realise but it will be installed by a part P pro.:frown:

The main in-house circuit board is the very basic 30+ year old 3 plugs/fuses type (operates plugs, lights and a previosly connect shower which has been removed)

As there already is a 6mm cable in the attic coming from the board which has a 45amp breaker for the shower, and i have an isolater switch to go in the bathroom, will i need an extra RCD in line from the switch to the shower?