socket and switch heights? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss socket and switch heights? in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi Guys
I know the rules about Part M and heights of sockets and switches in a domestic property (new build)
do those rules also apply to new build retail units?

Richard

retail shop unit. 7pm in winter. light switches at 1200mm. snotty nosed little sprog turns all the shop lights off.

retail shop unit. 7pm in winter. light switches at 1200mm. snotty nosed little sprog turns all the shop lights off.
When i worked in a shop all the lights, aircon etc went through a contactor and were controlled via a key switch by the window, which was at around 1200mm.
Most shops keep a light on all night, which should allow enough light to get to a staff area to switch on the rest of the lights.

As with most Building Regulations, the issue of sockets and switches is open to interpretation when dealing with retail units.
It is best to talk to the Building Control Surveyor before committing either way.
I have previosuly not bothered and had to alter to suit the Part M requirements as it has now been modified to include premises other than dwellings. You then also get the public access issues.
To be honest it is easier to comply and then you cant go wrong.
Jerry

Last edited by a moderator:
When i worked in a shop all the lights, aircon etc went through a contactor and were controlled via a key switch by the window, which was at around 1200mm.
Most shops keep a light on all night, which should allow enough light to get to a staff area to switch on the rest of the lights.

sorry I didn't see you had put what I have designed into the shop

:)

I don't have an answer for you yet but I'm sure there must be some guidance on accessibility in public buildings.