Voltage sensative eqipment disaster | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Voltage sensative eqipment disaster in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

liamraffo

Hi,
i am an Electrical contractor but also carry out Mechanical works. On this particular project we were only carrying out the Mechanical installation. This was a boiler house replacement that consisted of a mechanical control panel and BMS system. The control panel was manufactured by a sub contractor and they also carried out the field wiring and supplied all the sensors and controls. The testing and commissioning was completed on all the equipment on a temporary supply. However, when the electrical contractor put his 3 phase supply to the mech panel it blew all the controls, including the field controls.

Does anything spring to mind as to how this may have been caused? It is as if there was transiant voltage but i cant see how this may have been caused?

The blame is with somebody but the electrical contractor will not accept it is him as he says he only put the supply to the panel. However, the controls sub contractor did put type D mcbs in. Would this have caused the circuits not to trip out under fault conditions?

Any input would be much appriciated.
Thanks