Wanting to re train | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Wanting to re train in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

ChrisMoxon

Hi Guys and girls

I want some advice. I was a chef for 15 years and had to leave that career due to bowel cancer. Im fit and well now but the chef life style isn't the best place for me now.

I wanted to become a sparky as I'm very hands on and practical and had an idea i could earn good money. I have spoke to people in the industry on the phone and one person in particular has said if he had his turn again he would do plumbing and gas.

He said the industry isn't what it used to be and its a very cutt throat industry and it's more about covering your back. Working for a company is rubbish as your treated like dirt and given all the **** jobs. Domestic work is dying due to people doing their own wiring and getting people to sign it off which in turn will leave that person viable to any issues.

They are bringing in third party certification, what is this??

It's only a 40% pass rate so the quality of people coming into the industry is weak.

if senior guys arnt willing to promote younger guys when they have proved themselves because they feel threatened by this, is this correct??

I have been approached by a guy after applying online to learn the trade and he said in 18 months i can have my nvq level 2 part p and another few bits allowing me to re wire a house and self certificate. Is this to fast to learn this and do you think it's a con?? It will cot around £3900

To move on after this and get level 3 for commercial and to be able to certificate others will be all together level 2 and 3 £6140.....to high?? the time frame for getting level 3 is around 6 months. This is all between 10 hours a week learning at home and practical lessons once a fortnight with 2 one week practical days thrown in.

Sorry for the long essay but need some answers...

Cheers