What tools to buy next? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss What tools to buy next? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

atm-12

-
Reaction score
Hi,

I have been working in the electrical industry now for around 4 months as an apprentice. I have got a basic set of tools but am looking to splash out and buy more around christmas time.

Draper Expert Insulated Driver Set
Insulated Side Cutters + Pliers
Water Pump Pliers
Scutch Chisel
Lump Hammer
Claw Hammer
Stanley Knife
Junior Hacksaw
Spirit Level
Tonguing Knife

What would you suggest are the next tools I should add to my collection are?

Cheers.

Hi,

I have been working in the electrical industry now for around 4 months as an apprentice. I have got a basic set of tools but am looking to splash out and buy more around christmas time.

Draper Expert Insulated Driver Set
Insulated Side Cutters + Pliers
Water Pump Pliers
Scutch Chisel
Lump Hammer
Claw Hammer
Stanley Knife
Junior Hacksaw
Spirit Level
Tonguing Knife

What would you suggest are the next tools I should add to my collection are?

Cheers.
Basic Electrical Tool Kit

Cheap second rate tools of the variety listed by yourself
Much more economical to drop a crappy measurig tape down the cavity than a brand new stanley

You will end up with your favourite basics that are irreplaceable,cutters hammer, hacksaw etc
One tool that few list is a bush spanner with 20 and 25 mm ends

Thanks for the quick replies!

I think I'll get some long nose pliers and an adjustable spanner at some point as they will probably come in handy.

Are pipe grips water pump pliers? Pliers allowing you to adjust the size?

What is a bush spanner? Never heard of one before.

I don't think I need to buy any power tools yet, I'm always with someone who has all the power tools in the van. As I get more experience and start doing guvvy jobs on the side I will have to look into this.

Cheers.