Wiring in a conservatory | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Wiring in a conservatory in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

Loveridge

Im currently an electrical apprentice and my mum in thinking about having a new conservatory installed (if that's the right word). One contractor she's had in to quote has said that the electrics must be isolate from the rest of the house according to the regs? Is this true? Surely they could just spur off the ring (of which there is a socket the other side of the wall) to supply the ring and lighting? Not a massively important question but was just wondering so cheers for any replies :)

He's talking absolute claptrap, He knows about as much about the Electrical regs, as we know about his Building regs.... Remember well, a little knowledge can be very dangerous in the wrong hands!!! ...lol!!!

No, it is not true.

If the anticipated loading is small, then go ahead and use a fused spur from the downstairs RFC (and a second fused spur at 3A for the light).

if you're installing heating and aircon, then you may well need a seperate circuit.

I was informed by an electrician about a year ago now that conservatorys had to be supplied via a double pole isolation, the reason he gave was that a conservatory is classed as a temporary structure and it is apparently to ensure safe isolation if its ever taken down..........sounded odd to me at the time and i ignored it but this thread just reminded me!!

Hi In my conservatory i extended to final ring from the kitchen (checked the possible load on the circuit first, cos i didnt want to run a new ring final!) double socket in each corner and fused spur off to switch supplying two wall lights

He's talking absolute claptrap, He knows about as much about the Electrical regs, as we know about his Building regs.... Remember well, a little knowledge can be very dangerous in the wrong hands!!! ...lol!!!