Currently reading:
Sky + Terrestrial tv on 1 cable? help please

Discuss Sky + Terrestrial tv on 1 cable? help please in the FreeSat, Sky, VirginMedia Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

RGawley

Hi
I am a 4th year electrician and enquiring for some help. Recently my cousin wanted sky in every room so basicaly I pulled a CT100 cable (from RF2) from his living room to the roof space where i installed a Booster that allows more than 1 magic eye to be used. He has terrestrial tv in 2 bedrooms upstairs and in the kitchen downstairs. I explained to him im not sure he could get terrestrial tv if I changed them from his standerd booster to the new sky booster. He said it was no problem. Now the wife wants terrestrial tv in some rooms. As there is only 1 cable, could i get sky & terrestrial tv down the 1 cable? that is my question. your help would be greatfull. Any additional information you request to help me out, i could provide with ease.
(I am getting some channel's but not BBc 1,2. Channel 4)

Thank you
Ry

Last edited by a moderator:
Yes, you can get sky and terrestrial down the one cable.

You've taken it from RF2 so that's already an RF signal tuned to a particular RF channel.

Not sure about the RF2 on a sky+ box (as I don't have one) but if there's a terrestrial aerial also attached to the sky+ box then RF1 & 2 normally carry both the currently tuned sat channels (one for each sky tuner on different RF channels) and the incoming terrestrial signal anyway. Just try to tune the signal in. Bear in mind that this will be going to digital soon on terrestrial so will only be a short term solution without a dodgybox, digital adapter or TV with digital tuner.

Hi,