Search the forum,

Discuss Underfloor Cooker cable in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello All. I'm quite new to this game and gaining experience, but going well in the main.

My customer wants to feed a Hob ( on island in centre of kitchen ) and have the Oven separate on a wall unit. I'm running 10mm to give some headroom as induction hob involved, plus kettle and oven on same circuit so 40 amps not unlikely.

As I need to split the feed into 2, after the cooker switch, and want to avoid a junction box due to access for maintenance as it will be wall to wall cupboard units- therefore I want to go straight into the Cooker switch, then on to a twin Cooker outlet. This outlet will be behind the oven- but I'm considering taking the second feed ( for the island hob ) down a chase, then through a large-bore metal pipe across the ( already laid ) concrete floor, cutting a large channel in the insulation to give it space to emit heat.

To do this I need to pass the DPC + vertical plastic membrane on the bottom of the wall, then take a 90 degree turn into the pipe. Apart from protecting the 10mm down the wall with, say, a steel cover, does anyone reckon there's any problem with this? Picture attached - sorry was a sunny day today, but cooker outlet is visible in white chalk square.

Thanks in advance - as far as I can tell this is all kosher but it feels a bit wrong to be just taking the 10mm down the wall and around the bend. Maybe an elbow on the wall end to protect the junction would be best?

The other thing I'm less certain about, is coming out of the twin cooker outlet and then chasing one of the the 10mm cables back into the wall, for the island feed, rather than taking that cable out to an appliance which outlets would appear to be designed for.

Sorry, a few questions in there.

Thoughts would be appreciated.
WhatsApp Image 2024-05-02 at 21.37.37.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator: