Control panels | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Control panels in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

silva.foxx

I've been in the industrial maintenance 'game' since mid '94 so seen a fair few panels, main control panels that is. As some here may recall, I'm larking around trying to outdo C&G in creating a structured electrical apprenticeship program for our recruit, so am looking back over my time.

I'm still learning so this is an opportunity for me to reinforce my understanding of things and also to remember most of what I've forgotten!

Ventilation! What's the general view on forced-air ventilation? Fan to blow in or suck out?

Drives (VFDs). Low for cool air or high up where heat rises before expelling out through vent?

PLCs. Low down in cooler air or at top (seems to be quite common with a viewing window!)?

Manuf' instructions 1st mate!

Which ever air removal method you use you need to allow for make up air.

IMHO the air in or air out depends on your environment.

VFD's/Inverters.Servo drives, again manuf' instr, but, do you want the hot air of the heat sinks affecting the rest of the panel ir high up being sucked straight out?

PLC's bit more difficult, out of any humid air stream caused by panel air con.

This is more of a thermal engineering Q than an electrical, and I don't think this is taught on ANY electrical course TBH!!!

I prefer filtered air forced in. Any leaks around doors or panel sections have air forced out and not drawing dust in. I’ve always worked in dusty environments so it’s been a constant battle. We had a new engineering manager and he couldn’t understand why I’d banned the use of switch grease on one plant, he found out at the next shutdown when a combination of grease, heat and cement dust had glued main switches closed.

VFD’s near the top so there’s room for associated control gear in the relative cool at the bottom.

PLC’s at eye level. OK maybe not my eye level.