How to connect 2-core SWA safely? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss How to connect 2-core SWA safely? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

K

kevdavies

There is a length of 2-core SWA cable that runs from my house underneath the garden and into the garage. It was there when we moved in and it looks like it has never been connected up. I'd like to have supply power to the garage for a battery charger and a couple of lights. What is the cheapest, easiest way to do this?

First thought was 16A trailing plug and sockets (2P+E) going into an RCD plug and a 4-way extension at the other end. But there is no earth. I'd have to use the armour for the main earth.

Any suggestions?

I'm very new to all this! I've just started re-training as an electrician so may have missed something obvious!

I think Kev was expecting a different answer there Murdoch!

Maybe but as a trainee the best way to learn is to outline what he thinks so others can comment.......

I know others rush to outline the list of parts but from the OP he has already got part of the way so lets gently help him.

Ha ha - fair comment. It's not a homework question if that's what you think! I just want to be able to put my motorbike battery on trickle charge - honest!

My 'ideas' is to run it on 16A plug and sockets but not sure if the simply connecting the armour to a metal gland will be OK or not. Suppose I should dig out the regs book and have a browse. Just being lazy aren't I!!!

you can use the armour as earthing. what size is the SWA? do your calculations and see if it will do. then you need to determine what and where you fit your protective devices. if yo give us an idea of what you think , then assistance will be forthcoming. nobody will give you a readers digest "how to wire a shed" guide. you need to know what you are diong and why.

OK. Here's the plan!
Forgive the dodgy terminology.

In-line RCD plugged into existing socket
13A plug to 16A socket (flex)