Kitchens! | on ElectriciansForums
  • Thread starter Rich_Mortimer
  • Start date
  • Replies 28
  • Views 4K

Discuss Kitchens! in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Rich_Mortimer

Hi All,

I'm sorry if i'm repeating previous posts but this is my first time here and I don't know where to look!

Ok... I'm planning the sockets for our new kitchen before bringing in a spark for a quote.

Questions...
1) How far from the sink do I have to be before having a socket?
2) Can the sockets above the worktop still be normal sockets protected at the CU, or are there new rules?
3) I've been told the appliances can go directly via a double pole switch inside a unit... Don't they have to be in view??
4) If they can go in a unit... can they same be said with the cooker switch?

Sorry for so many questions and thanks in advance! :)

Regards,

Rich.

Hi All,

I'm sorry if i'm repeating previous posts but this is my first time here and I don't know where to look!

Ok... I'm planning the sockets for our new kitchen before bringing in a spark for a quote.

Questions...
2) Can the sockets above the worktop still be normal sockets protected at the CU, or are there new rules?
3) I've been told the appliances can go directly via a double pole switch inside a unit... Don't they have to be in view??

Regards,

Rich.
Hi Rich and welcome to the forum:D
1)300mm 2)Normal sockets as long as they are RCD protected.3)Depends on the layout of the kitchen.4)Not a problem as long as they are accessible

Hi All,

Questions...

Regards,

Rich.

Hi Rich
The socket distance can depend on your kitchen design and how much space you have, look to get 300 mm though from the sink and drainer
the sockets are just normal sockets but yes they will need to be RCD protected