Linear Motors | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Linear Motors in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

gerard

Hi,
Just wondering if anyone has much experience with Linear Motors? I am going to use one for an application but I'm not sure whether I should use an electric or pneumatic motor. I want the more precise of the two. It's not 'nano' precise i'm looking for or anything like that. As I have no experience with this type of motor can anybody that has experience give me some information.

Thanks.

Hi Gerard,
I have some experience with linear motors,it depends on the application,do you need a lot of torque or
exact position?If you just need torque an electric unit is ok,they usualy have overtravel switches
inside which stops the motor going to its too far and jamming up.If you require exact positioning you will
have to buy a motor with an encoder fitted.

Hi,
Thanks for that. I will need exact positioning with low torque. The Linear Motor will have a pneumatic cylinder attached to it and when the Linear Motor is in position, the piston will come down. So, would you recommend an electric or pneumatic motor? is the motor you worked on DC driven?

The motors i worked on were 240volts three wire,two live inputs for the selection of direction and
a common,the linear part is done by a gearbox so they had lots of torque,so electric would be ok as its
easy to control.for exact positioning you can get an encoder mounted on the end or
somewhere on your cylinder to take out any backlash in the mechanics.You can also drive a digital display.
All the controls you need are in Radio spares,talk to there technical dept,they are very
helpfull.

What was giving the signal to the Linear Motor to operate? I will be giving it a signal from a PLC, which is getting it's signal from a vision system. It is my job to ensure the PLC side and the motor side is working.

The motor is switched by relays which are controlled by plc outputs.the 24volt plc output