Please can you advise me. | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Please can you advise me. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello all.
As mentioned I am not an electrician myself but need some advice ..if you would.
I am installing some led lights on the stairs that just plug in to a socket.
I was advised by an Electrician that did some work for us a while ago on how to wire them in as there was no socket in that area. He suggested to spur from the closest socket (it is not a spur itself) through the wall and then to run to a 3 amp fused switch ...then onto a socket just under the stairs that the lights can be permenently plugged in to...and use the fused switch to control the led lights.
I understand that this will be fine....he reassured me atleast ?
My question is this....how to wire the fused switch?
I have attached a picture to show how I have it wired at the moment (it is not yet connected though)
[ElectriciansForums.net] Please can you advise me.
Could you please tell me If I have done it the right way ?
I understand Im sure that you may not wish to advise me as I am not a qualified electrician...but I would very much appreciate it if you could.
Thank you very much
Daniel

No, no it isnt. It makes testing, which you probably wont do, more difficult.

Ok...I will seperate them tomorrow. But they do both go to the same earth point ...is this ok then ? sorry Just a little confused. There is one earth point on the metal socket...and one on the switch itself....should I connect them individually to both points ?
Thank you

Last edited:
Sleeved separately but going to the same terminal on the switch and then a short flying lead to the terminal on the back box.

I’m not always grumpy :wink_smile: