What to buy? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss What to buy? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

H

Hanko1983

Hey guys

I'm just starting out and can't decide what tools to buy :confused:

I was thinking of getting the C.K electrician's premium kit (595003) £140 ish. Is that the best thing to do?

Any suggestions would be great

Cheers guys

i got the CK kit when i was starting out, its a good buy but remember you will be adding to it very quickly and the actual bag gets very cluttered and disorganised...!!

what you need when starting out

VDE Screwdrivers!!
Hammer
Tape Measure
Decent cable cutters that cut 10mm+ cable with ease (i got a CK set from wholesalers)
Wood Chisel's
Masonary Chisel's
laser level or spirit level.. or both..!!
Torx Screwdrivers
Allen keys
decent stanley knife
decent junior hacksaw
wire strippers
long knose pliers
cable rods

Power drill....!! SDS with Chisel function is brill...
cordless Drill (if you can afford one get a Impact Driver awesome)
dust pan and brush and dust sheets (and hoover if you go whole hog)

dust mask and gloves and goggles

and above all else a VOLT TESTER!!!! saves lives..!

the list is endless!!!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi mate, I looked at one of those kits for when I was starting out but decided to buy seperate (and slightly better) and ended up spending £200. However 3 years later I still have all of my original tools. These packs are sometimes quite appealing, however I imagine in no time you will want to upgrade the bag to a bigger one and you might find the tape measure a little bit weak. Also do you think you will have any use for the automatic wire strippers or knife?

B&Q are doing a Dewalt bag for £20 Dewalt 18" Open Tote Tool Bag, 0000005263967