Who can do a periodic( condition report) for localathority licence? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Who can do a periodic( condition report) for localathority licence? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am a domestic installer with nic. I have my 2395. But am I alowed to do condition reports for local authority licence? I suspect I cannot as the nic certs are only available to approved contractors. Am I right.

i am pricing up a job for 12 flats, the land lady wants them done so she can get her licence,don't particularly want to loose job but I want to do it right.

Firstly forget this niceic approved or whatever,it is irrelevant to "who" can carry out Eicrs

There is no law or regulation restricting anybody from reporting
There is a suggestion by the IET that a person has above average knowledge and experience of the type of installation
There is suggestion that a person get themselves indemnity insurance
There is suggestion competence be demonstrated,a 2391 is one means
There is the motivation factor,can you compete against drive by Eicrs produced on mass by large testing firms?

Now this is the important bit
There is the requirements a client (eg the council)will make of the person or company
They may require some or all of the above
They may require professional registration with an electrical register
They may favour one register over another
They may favour the type of registration of that particular register

In a nutshell its best to ring them and have a chat
[ElectriciansForums.net] Who can do a periodic( condition report) for localathority licence?

Firstly forget this niceic approved or whatever,it is irrelevant to "who" can carry out Eicrs

There is no law or regulation restricting anybody from reporting
There is a suggestion by the IET that a person has above average knowledge and experience of the type of installation
There is suggestion that a person get themselves indemnity insurance