Search the forum,

Discuss Earthing arrangement and single to 3-phase upgrade in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Newbie here - please go easy on me, and I hope I'm posting in the right forum! ;)

Existing arrangement as follows - single phase TNC-S supply provided in a remote building. This building has a substantial 3-phase company supply, but my supply is tapped off the incommer, and through a a single company fuse (80A) and single phase meter to my isolator. This is a 63A 3-phase Glasgow switch fuse. Output side of that then runs about 175mtrs on a 4-core 25mm SWA to the building in question. Although the SWA that was used is 4-core, only 2 were effectively used, with only one (63A) fuse ever fitted in the Glasgow switch at the supply end. There's also a separate 25mm earth run all the way alongside that SWA. At my building there was a 4-pole isolator with a single phase CU from that.

My building is now being replaced with a larger, steel contructed, building, and the load requirements dictate we need a lot more power, and also plan to run some 3-phase machine tools there in the future.

Intention therefore is to get the DNO to upgrade the supply to 80A 3-phase at the remote building and connect onward using the existing isolator and same 25mm SWA supply cable, livening up the two hitherto unused conductors in it. New building will have a nice shiny 3-phase DB.

Finally to my questions:

Can I, or indeed should I, be putting a couple of earth rods into the ground at the new building, and adding that at the MET where the bond to the building, 25mm earth, and SWA armour come together?

I'm paranoid about loss of neutral continuity, so to safeguard against that can the supply neutral be rebonded to the MET at my end, thus extending the TNC-S to the entry point of my building?

I suspect I'm about to be shot down in flames for that last question! Look forward to your responses.

Last edited: