Are at home Level 2 courses actually viable? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss Are at home Level 2 courses actually viable? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I have been working as a trainee electrician since March 2024, I am looking to start my Level 2 now and being 25 years old of course I want to get on with it as quickly as I can without relying on college. I have found a couple of courses in the UK which state that they send you the study resources to do in your own time and when ready you can take assessments, and will also be required to attend a training centre a few times to do practical work which sounds perfect for me.

I am asking are these types of courses actually viable? I have no problem studying myself, but these courses are obviously a lot of money so I am wondering if they are worth it or not? Can I actually achieve a legitimate Level 2 C&G this way or is it just a money making scheme?

Thank you in advance for any advice.

Reasearch carefully any training provider before signing up. There are some out there that don't deliver, and even appear to set obstacles to progressing (such as assessements that you repeatedly fail without understanding why). There are also some that sign you up with a credit provider, so they get the money and leave the credit company to chase you when eveything goes sour. You will find mention of such companies on here, including sorry tales from trainees looking for ways out.

Upvote 2
I did the homestudy level 2 and level 3. You're on premesis for 4 weeks for level 2 and 3 1/2 weeks for level 3 broken up over the time you take to work through the material. For the level 2 you are doing practical work for the majority of the time and your ability is checked throughout the build process. As well as that, you will have revision sessions followed by the unit exams.