Bathroom supplementary bonding | on ElectriciansForums
Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Bathroom supplementary bonding in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

readingplumber

[h=2]
[ElectriciansForums.net] Bathroom supplementary bonding
[/h] I am a plumber by trade and posted this question on plumbers forum but was told to post it here instead! -

I am planning a a bathroom for a client in an extension but there is no existing pipework to connect onto for the supplementary bonding. Would it be ok to connect it to the earth wires on say the light circuit or ringmain? Thanks!

If you have RCD protection for all circuits in the bathroom (which is required) and the main bonding to gas water oil etc is in place and the electrical circuits are compliant in terms of disconnection times then you do not need to install supplementary bonding in a bathroom.
That said if you do need it (you shouldn't) then it should also be connected to the earthing for the circuits in the room anyway so yes.

I agree with Richard, but you say it is an extension, is it a newly built extension, or an existing building? If it is new, then get the Electrician who has wired it all to show you the RCD or RCBO's which will have been fitted into the consumer unit, also ask to see the Electrical Installation Certificate and schedule of tests, these will confirm that all the disconnection times etc have been met.

I appreciate that you may not understand the contents of these documents, but if they have been issued, then you can assume all is well electrically, and carry on as per Richards advice above.

If there are no RCD's or RCBO's and no electrical installation certificate, schedule of inspections or schedule of tests, then the install is not compliant.