how to replace an immersion heater? | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss how to replace an immersion heater? in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
a customer's immersion heater is gone, i am thinking to get a new one, but i am not good at heating system, checked books, i need to drain the cylinder first, this is a vented system, 2 tanks in the loft, how to drain the cylinder? cannot find gateway to the cylinder, anyone has experience?

cheers in advance

Last edited:
If there are no isolation valves on the pipework coming from the tanks to the cylinder (usually red cartwheel type ones), tie up the ball valve in the loft to stop the cylinder refilling when you start draining down.

There'll be a drain valve, normally at the very bottom of the cylinder that you can slide a hosepipe on to, to drain off the top couple of inches (you dont need to drain the whole tank) if it's a top (backup) immersion. Obviously if it's an E7 bottom immersion then you will have to drain the whole cylinder.

One thing, slacken off the immersion a little before you start draining down with a decent immersion spanner, as the cylinder is stronger when it's full of water and there's less chance of you tearing the ridiculously thin copper that the immersion screws into.

Make sure you clean the collar of the cylinder where the immersion screws in with wire wool and sandpaper to get rid of the old gasket and/or paste, a little PTFE on the new immersion with the new gasket will be fine (always handy to have some plumbers jointing compound handy though) just incase.

A few of the tricks I've used