PFC Units | on ElectriciansForums

Discuss PFC Units in the Electrician Talk | All Countries area at ElectriciansForums.net

scotsparky

-
Arms
Reaction score
Just been given a job to repair a 300KVA Power factor Correction Unit I have never worked on them before but realise there are large capacitors in them so am wary. Anybody got any experiance on testing them and what the the risks are there after full isolation.

Thank you

EDIT.

I just found a pic similar to one of the types of units I've worked with.

This is whats called an "Active" power factor correction unit.

You can also get "Passive power factor correction units that deal with harmful harmonics in systems. Do you know what type you have.

Just been given a job to repair a 300KVA Power factor Correction Unit I have never worked on them before but realise there are large capacitors in them so am wary. Anybody got any experiance on testing them and what the the risks are there after full isolation.

Thank you
Fitted a old one once if you shut the incomming supply down leaving the capacitors on line with the installation it should drain them straight away just be weary if you isolate them first from the installation as they cant dump their charge straight away and their is enough to kill you id check with manufacturers for a safe discharge time before you can be safe.
I've no experience with new ones so not sure if they have discharge arrangements etc but i did have to mark the busbar up about the possible shock risk if outgoings were isolated and mains shut down leaving the busbar floating live off the capacitors
It just comes down to been extra cautious and checking with your voltage testers first.

the unit was made in scotland and i have been in touch with them for a chatand they are digging out the scematics for it. They are giving me a quote to refurb/replace it. The unit is 9 years old and had a working life of 4-5 years so its done well.