Currently reading:
Roofing Bolts as Earthing studs

Discuss Roofing Bolts as Earthing studs in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

jim1976

Hi, all

Can anyone send me or direct me to website that as info on using roofing bolts for earthing stud ?

I work in a factory that is using the SWA for earthing (which I know is ok but with the bad glanding not so sure) and all banjo,s are held down with roofing bolts, now I worked at a power station for 2 1/2 years and this was a big no no due to the metal reacting and making bad earth connections. the boss here wont have it so need proof they need changing.

cheers

Jim

never had a problem. it's brass to steel, so what. the brass of the gland is in contact with the steel armour anyway. if the atmosphre was damp/corrosive, then that steel would corrode anyway.

and after some hairy-arsed industrial spark has sheared off a few, he'll go back to roofers, which i hate for this purpose simply because they have heads designed so as to not fit any screwdriver known to man. far better to use hex nuts and bolts.

their purpose is to connect to steel, so they're fine in that respect.

never seen them. just them with the cross slots.

ve3usu3e.jpg

I have a love/hate with this subject. I use brass for the job whenever possible, simply as it stops people from moaning, but there's a back-up box of roofers in the van for when I run out. But I have still yet to see anything to convince me that to use galvanized steel is 'wrong'. For a start, it's a heck of a lot cheaper than brass!!!

I have a love/hate with this subject. I use brass for the job whenever possible, simply as it stops people from moaning, but there's a back-up box of roofers in the van for when I run out. But I have still yet to see anything to convince me that to use galvanized steel is 'wrong'. For a start, it's a heck of a lot cheaper than brass!!!

should be using bolts instead of roofers anyway.